The Asian Medical Students’ Association (AMSA) was officially founded at the 6th AMSC in the Philippines. The nine Founding Members were Australia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand.

The 5th AMSC 1984 was held in Singapore, but Singapore is not included as a founding member of AMSA. Though to the joy of all, they rejoined the family and revived their membership in 2012!

We are not quite sure when the chair of AMSA International’s Executive Committee started being called the “Overall Chairperson”. We would like to honor the people who made a contribution to AMSA. Please help us fill in the blanks!

Here is a shot of the five of us, Eugene Makalingga, Aprilianto Eddy Wiria, Waka Shibata, Juin Yi Ng and Samuel Vo, who were at the First Reunion Dinner!

1989/1990 Yoshihiro Takashima Japan
1990/1991 Ari Fharial Syam Indonesia
1995/1996 Yuthana Sethanand Thailand
1996/1997 Leung Wai Man, Raymond Hong Kong
1997/1998 Badrul Akmal Hisham Yusoff Malaysia
1998/1999 Celia Kemp Australia
1999/2000 Yasmin Mabutas The Philippines
2001/2002 Eugene Makalingga The Philippines
2003/2004 Aprilianto Eddy Wiria Indonesia
2004/2005 Dara Rosmailina Pabittei Indonesia
2005/2006 Julia Huang Taiwan
2006/2007 Waka Shibata Japan
2007/2008 Alessandro Demaio Australia
2008/2009 Muhammad Umair Pakistan
2009/2010 Omar Mansour Australia
2010/2011 Aditya Kumar Nepal
2011/2012 Joseph Assad Australia
2012/2013 Juin Yi Ng Malaysia
2013/2014 Samuel Vo Australia
2014/2015 Garda Widhi Nurraga Indonesia
2015/2016 Marco Christian Michael Indonesia
2016/2017 Xinyuan Liu China